The Highlands Consulting Group https://highlandsconsulting.com Bridging business and technology since 2002 Fri, 27 Mar 2020 23:00:33 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://highlandsconsulting.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/cropped-favicon-1-32x32.jpg The Highlands Consulting Group https://highlandsconsulting.com 32 32 Unexpected Change https://highlandsconsulting.com/unexpected-change/ Fri, 27 Mar 2020 22:55:31 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4780 In just two short weeks, all of our lives have changed in ways we never predicted. This post from Jason Kottke offers a list of how we are all experiencing COVID-19 in different ways. It’s a 2-minute read that helped me think beyond my individual…

The post Unexpected Change appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>
What’s Measured Gets Done https://highlandsconsulting.com/whats-measured-gets-done/ Tue, 18 Feb 2020 21:57:46 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4758  “If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will take you there.”–  Lewis Carroll In business, clear goals matter. When done well, a written strategic plan is both a path forward and a roadmap to help achieve an organization’s mission. That’s why our team…

The post What’s Measured Gets Done appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>
Achieving Agile Success in the Public Sector https://highlandsconsulting.com/achieving-agile-success-in-the-public-sector/ Fri, 24 Jan 2020 17:51:44 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4754 As the Agile Methodology continues to gain momentum in the public sector, we’ve put together a list of insights to help make your next Agile project a success. Initial Scope.  Many of us rush straight into software development…because it’s Agile. But the most important step…

The post Achieving Agile Success in the Public Sector appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>
Trees for a Cause https://highlandsconsulting.com/trees-for-a-cause/ Fri, 20 Dec 2019 18:27:32 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4736 Highlands Consulting continued its tradition of donating decorated Christmas trees to the Sacramento Children’s Home this week. We organized into teams, brainstormed ideas, decorated the trees, and invited impartial judges to vote for the best tree! We were able to put our competitive instincts to…

The post Trees for a Cause appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>
Finding the (Often Hidden) Benefits of FI$Cal https://highlandsconsulting.com/finding-the-often-hidden-benefits-of-fiscal/ Mon, 21 Oct 2019 18:48:05 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4713 Nearly all designated State departments have been using FI$Cal for at least a year now. And with such a complex system, it’s been challenging indeed. Many of us at Highlands are continuously evaluating how to help our clients take full advantage of FI$Cal and gain…

The post Finding the (Often Hidden) Benefits of FI$Cal appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>
A Client-Focused Project Management Tool https://highlandsconsulting.com/a-client-focused-project-management-tool/ Mon, 23 Sep 2019 22:55:18 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4636 Coordinating projects can be a challenge, even for seasoned professionals. During an engagement, you have competing deadlines, shifting priorities, client demands to meet, and a project team to coordinate. So how do you keep track of all that? You find a tool that works for…

The post A Client-Focused Project Management Tool appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>
A Special Day with Make-A-Wish https://highlandsconsulting.com/a-special-day-with-make-a-wish/ Fri, 23 Aug 2019 16:44:07 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4624 On August 17, the Highlands Consulting team walked to support the Make-A-Wish | Walk for Wishes. It was a special day, indeed. We were inspired by a happy, courageous young boy who battled a critical illness. We witnessed firsthand the amazing work of Make-A-Wish, and…

The post A Special Day with Make-A-Wish appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>
The Business Analysis Body of Knowledge (BABOK) and PAL https://highlandsconsulting.com/the-business-analysis-body-of-knowledge-babok-and-pal/ Tue, 06 Aug 2019 17:43:30 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4616 The California Department of Technology’s (CDT) Project Approval Framework (PAL) has been around for several years now. It describes the four stages that State agencies undertaking large-scale IT modernization projects must go through to obtain approval and establish a foundation for project success. Stage 1:…

The post The Business Analysis Body of Knowledge (BABOK) and PAL appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>
Embracing Change at the PegaWorld Conference https://highlandsconsulting.com/embracing-change-at-the-pegaworld-conference/ Wed, 10 Jul 2019 18:56:53 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4606 Last month, Eric Norton and I attended Pega’s annual conference, PegaWorld2019, along with 5,000 professionals from across the globe. Pega is an innovative platform that has automated business processes for large and small organizations, including a growing number of State of California departments. Highlands Consulting’s…

The post Embracing Change at the PegaWorld Conference appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>
Thinking about Change Globally, Acting on Change Locally https://highlandsconsulting.com/thinking-about-change-globally-acting-on-change-locally/ Fri, 07 Jun 2019 16:46:55 +0000 https://highlandsconsulting.com/?p=4588 I recently attended the 2019 ACMP Global Conference in Orlando with a new perspective this year. Having recently been appointed as Treasurer to the ACMP NorCal Chapter Board, my mission was twofold: to absorb the latest global thinking about change management, then to bring those…

The post Thinking about Change Globally, Acting on Change Locally appeared first on The Highlands Consulting Group.

]]>